English   Español   Français






(01/12) Feast/Memorial/Season of:

Saint Edmund Campion & Martyrs of England

Between 1581 and 1679 ten Jesuits died for their refusal to accept the Oath of Supremacy giving Queen Elizabeth I sovereignty over the Church of England. They remained faithful to the Pope and lived as fugitives to provide sacraments and pastoral care to Catholics who hid priests in their homes from those who systematically hunted them down. Some of the Jesuits who were martyred were well-known before their deaths, like Father Edmund Campion who had been a lecturer at Oxford before becoming a Jesuit. Others worked in anonymity, like Brother Nicholas Owen who used his skills as a mason to construct hiding places in hundreds of homes across England. What unites this group of men whom the Church honors today is their fearless pastoral service despite the imminent threat of death if they were captured. The Jesuits honored are: Edmund Arrowsmith, Alexander Briant, Edmund Campion, Philip Evans, Thomas Garnet, David Lewis, Henry Morse, Nicholas Owen, Robert Southwell and Henry Walpole.
Read the Biographies
Saint Edmund Campion
Saint Roberth Southwell
Blessed Thomas Holland
Blessed Robert Middleton
Saint Henry Walpole
Blessed Edward Oldcorne
Blessed Francis Page
Blessed Roger Filcock
Saint Nicholas Owen
Saint Henry Morse
Blessed John Nelson
Blessed William Ireland
Saint David Lewis
Saint Edmund Arrowsmith
Blessed Ralph Corby
Saint Philip Evans
Blessed John Cornelius
Saint Alexander Briant
Blessed Ralph Ashley
Blessed John Fenwick
Blessed William Harcourt
Blessed John Gavan
Blessed Anthony Turner
Blessed Thomas Woodhouse
Saint Thomas Garnet
Blessed Thomas Whitbread
Blessed Peter Wright
Blessed Thomas Cottam

The Complete List of Jesuit Saints and Blesseds